Look-in-to-my-eyes, in to my eyes, don’t look around my eyes..

Sue and me went on a BCU whitewater course at the weekend, at Canolfan Tryweryn. The course was run by Tom Parker and Paul Targett. Definitely recommend it.  We learned many things and swam a lot.

One thing they mentioned which I’d never thought about, was the importance of eye contact and body language when you are giving instructions to a swimmer. Making eye contact with the swimmer puts them “under your control”! How cool is that? They will feel compelled to look at you, as long as you maintain eye contact! They have a better chance to hear your instruction. And then they’ll do as you say! …

… At least, they might do as you say, if they trust you, if you stay calm with your arms fairly low, and don’t look like an arm flailing, wittering MADMAN!

manic paniclook into my eyes, into my eyes, do as I say

Who do you trust?

7 Responses

  1. Love the cartoon… did you make that yourself?

  2. 🙂 Yes I maked it – in my world the sky is pink.

  3. this is a very special world you live in… I might have to visit it sometime.

  4. Yeah would go well with the pink limo… maybe even invisible!

  5. Enthusiasm is as contagious as smiling. When you meet someone, make the most of it : conversationaid.com

  6. Howdy I am so glad I found your blog, I really found you by
    mistake, while I was searching on Askjeeve for something else, Anyhow
    I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a remarkable post and a all round
    enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at
    the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS
    feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep
    up the excellent work.

  7. Hello, yup this post is genuinely pleasant and I have learned lot
    of things from it concerning blogging. thanks.

Leave a Reply

